Jaguar C-type History

The Jaguar C-type is a racing sports car built by Jaguar and sold from 1951 to 1953.  The car used the XK 120 running gear in a lightweight tubular frame designed by William Heynes and an aerodynamic body jointly developed by Heynes, Bob Knight and Malcolm Sayer. A total of 53 C-Types were built, 43 of which were sold to private owners mainly in the US. The C-type was successful in racing, most notably at the Le Mans 24 hours race, which it won twice. In 1951 the car won at its first attempt with drivers Peter Walker and Peter Whitehead. In 1953 C-types won again with Duncan Hamilton and Tony Rolt at the wheel. Others placed second and fourth. This time the body was lighter and the original carburettors were replaced by Weber types which increased the engine power to 220bhp.  The original cars are very rare and unattainable.

For more about Jaguar C-type build options contact us

Jaguar C Type -1953 - classic car.